Chalon-sur-Saône Institute

Institut chalon réalité virtuelle

The Institut Image at Chalon-sur-Saône, which is attached to the Cluny campus, is pursuing a principal objective: to develop tools and disseminate virtual immersion methods and tools to support engineers. The work is carried out by a research team of 25 people (teacher-researchers, PhD students, engineers, technicians and administrative staff) dependent on LE2I (Electronics, IT and Image Laboratory).

Research in the field of virtual immersion

The researchers are particularly interested in multi-sensory immersion techniques for interacting with the digital model in virtual reality and augmented reality. The challenge consists of enabling a user to see a digital model, which requires the use of interfaces. This therefore means developing virtual reality technologies while acting on the various sensory modalities. Three lines of research are being developed: Virtual reality and augmented reality for the industry of the future, driving simulation, virtual environments for education and health. In relation to its expertise, the Institute offers a Master’s in Management of 3D interactive technologies (MTi3D) in partnership with the Arts et Métiers Laval Institute.

The Institut Image is linked to the Renault Group through the LiV joint laboratory for work on collaborative research projects.

The regional anchoring of the Institut Image is expressed through projects with the regional industrial fabric, in particular the Azur project supported by the UIMM F2I Fund. The Institut Image also enjoys the support of the State and territorial communities: the Grand Chalon, the Regional Council of Bourgogne Franche-Comté and the European Union through the ERDF.

A message from the Delegate Director

"Virtual Reality is going through a revival with the large-scale dissemination of helmet-mounted display technologies and augmented reality being developed by the large digital companies. This resurgence is an opportunity for research and innovation operators as many barriers remain (adaptation of virtual reality technologies to uses and user profiles, simulator sickness, optimal interaction methods, etc.). The Institut Image is taking part in these research and innovation efforts based on the experience it has gained over almost 20 years and its network of partners. In this context, the issues that the Institut Image will face in the coming years relate to the perpetuation of the PeTRiiV technology platform technical team, the development of a wider range of training courses and the development of research and innovation projects within the Arts et Métiers network in support of the industry of the future. To complete this development successfully, the Institut Image enjoys the dynamism of Le Grand Chalon,, which federates many players of the image and digital world, also thanks to the support provided by  Nicéphore Cité to the sector. Over the last few years, research activities have led to several company formations, including On Situ, Longcat Audio Technologies and Paztec. " Frederic Mérienne, Delegate Director of the Institut Image of Chalon-sur-Saône.

Training

Main partners

 

Specialties and strengths
Virtual reality
Augmented reality
Digital model

address and contact

Arts et Métiers Institut de Châlons-sur-Saone

2 rue Thomas Dumorey 71100 CHÂLONS-SUR-SAONE

Tél. : 33 (0)3 85 90 98 60

Getting to the institute : plan 

Contacts

école nationale supérieure d'arts et métiers
chapeau
6000
students
diplome
2000
graduating students per year
Fiole
14
Laboratories
Partenaire
170
international partners
Groupe d'étudiants assis par terre devant un campus

Dernières actualités du campus

The Chalon-sur-Saône Institute, also called « Image Institute », is a major actor in the digital transition of companies in the region.  Partnerships with industry and the region will be reinforced thank

News, Business, Innovation, Research

Institut de Chalon-sur-Saône

Institut chalon réalité virtuelle

L’Institut Image de Chalon-sur-Saône, rattaché au campus de Cluny, poursuit un objectif principal : développer et diffuser des méthodes et outils de l’immersion virtuelle, au service de l’ingénieur. Les travaux sont menés par une équipe de recherche de 25 personnes (enseignant-chercheurs, doctorants, ingénieurs, techniciens et administratifs) qui dépend du Laboratoire d’Ingénierie des Systèmes Physiques et Numériques (LISPEN) /Institut Image, labellisé début 2018 par le Ministère (Equipe d’Accueil 7515) et regroupe les équipe des campus d'Aix-en-Provence, de Cluny, de Lille et l'Institut de Chalon-sur-Saône

Des recherches sur l'immersion virtuelle

Les chercheurs s’intéressent en particulier aux techniques d’immersion multi-sensorielle pour l’interaction avec la maquette numérique en réalité virtuelle et réalité augmentée. L’enjeu consiste à permettre à un utilisateur de percevoir une maquette numérique, ce qui nécessite d’utiliser des interfaces. Il s’agit donc de développer des technologies de réalité virtuelle, agissant sur les différentes modalités sensorielles. Quatre axes de recherche sont développés : ingénierie système et maquette numérique, simulation et contrôle des systèmes, interaction Homme-Système et Aide à la décision. En lien avec ses expertises, l’institut propose un master en management des technologies interactives 3D (MTi3D) en partenariat avec l'institut Arts et Métiers de Laval.

L’institut image est lié au groupe Renault à travers le laboratoire commun LiV pour des travaux de recherches collaboratives.

L’ancrage régional de l’institut image s’exprime à travers des projets avec le tissu industriel régional en particulier à travers le projet AZUR soutenu par le fonds F2i de l’UIMM. L’institut image bénéficie également du soutien de l’État et des collectivités territoriales : le Grand Chalon, le Conseil régional de Bourgogne Franche-Comté et l’Union Européenne à travers des fonds FEDER.

Le mot du directeur délégué

"La réalité virtuelle vit une renaissance avec la diffusion à grande échelle de technologies de visio-casques et réalité augmentée en cours de réalisation par de grandes entreprises du numérique. Cette renaissance est une opportunité pour les opérateurs de la recherche et innovation car de nombreux verrous subsistent (adaptation des technologies de la réalité virtuelle aux usages et au profil des utilisateurs, mal du simulateur, méthodes optimales d’interaction…). L’Institut Image participe à ces efforts en recherche et innovation, sur la base de son expérience acquise depuis presque 20 ans et son réseau de partenaires. Dans ce contexte, les enjeux auxquels l’Institut Image devra faire face dans les années à venir concernent la pérennisation de l’équipe technique de la plateforme technologique PeTRiiV, le développement d’une offre de formations plus étendue ainsi que le développement de projets de recherche et innovation au sein du réseau Arts et Métiers au service de l'industrie du futur. Pour mener à bien son développement, l’Institut Image bénéficie du dynamisme du Grand Chalon,, qui fédère de nombreux acteurs du monde de l’image et du numérique grâce à Nicéphore Cité, pôle de soutien et d’accompagnement de la filière. Ces dernières années, les activités de recherche ont débouché sur plusieurs créations d’entreprise, comme On SituLongcat Audio Technologies ou Paztec. » Frédéric Mérienne, directeur délégué de l’Institut Image de Chalon-sur-Saône.

Formations

Partenaires principaux

Spécialités et points forts
Réalité virtuelle
Réalité augmentée
Maquette numérique

Contact et adresse

Arts et Métiers Institut de Chalon-sur-Saône

2 rue Thomas Dumorey 71100 CHALON-SUR-SAONE

Tél. : 33 (0)3 85 90 98 60

Se rendre à l'institut : plan 

Site Internet : http://institutimage.ensam.eu/

Contacts

 

Dernières actualités du campus

Qui sont les lauréats de la 5e édition du Défi Chal'enge ? Les élèves en Master Recherche MTI3D ont créé des simulateurs de réalité virtuelle et augmentée pour répondre aux besoins d

Actualité

Ce jeudi 31 janvier aura  lieu la 5e édition du Défi Chal'enge.

Actualité, Témoignage, Entreprise

Les technologies numériques de réalité virtuelle et augmentée facilitent-elles l’apprentissage des élèves ?

Actualité, Témoignage, Entrepreneuriat, Recherche