Laval Institute

Institut Arts et Métiers de Laval

 

Virtual reality, augmented reality and connected objects are at the core of the work at the Laval Institute, which is attached to the Angers campus. This presence owes nothing to chance: Since the end of the 1990s, Laval has been committed to becoming the European Capital of virtual reality. This ambition is embodied in particular with the Laval Virtual exhibition, which hosts dozens of exhibitors from around the world, and the Laval Virtual Center, which will be inaugurated in 2017.

Virtual reality issues

The  Presence & Innovation research team, which is dependent on the LAMPA laboratory, develops project partnerships with the world of industry that meet the needs of businesses as closely as possible. The aim of the work is to develop design approaches focusing on user experience.

The Institute also offers a research master's geared towards the management of 3D interactive technologies. A unique training course in France, the master’s degree combines research with the field by involving students in concrete projects supported by companies.

A message from the Director

"Ten years ago, we were among the pioneers of virtual reality and augmented reality. Today, these themes cover all areas of activity: they are incorporated into the design, manufacturing and marketing processes. The many industrial applications play a leading role in research and training. The Institute will be located in the future Laval Virtual Center, which aims to bring together all players in this futuristic sector. We want to strengthen synergies to benefit the transfer of technology. Another project involves the development of industrial chairs dedicated to innovative design processes. " Jean Quessada.

Training

 

Main partners

 

 

Specialties and strengths
Virtual Reality
Augmented reality
Connected objects

address and contact

ARTS ET MÉTIERS INSTITUT DE LAVAL

Laval Virtual Center Rue Marie Curie 53810 changé

Tél. : 33 (0)2 43 65 34 11 

Getting to the institute : plan 

Contacts 

Marie-Pierre Verrier

école nationale supérieure d'arts et métiers
chapeau
6000
students
diplome
2000
graduating students per year
Fiole
14
Laboratories
Partenaire
170
international partners
Groupe d'étudiants assis par terre devant un campus

Institut de Laval

Institut Arts et Métiers de Laval

Réalité virtuelle, réalité augmentée et objets connectés sont au cœur des travaux de l’institut de Laval, rattaché au campus d’Angers. Cette implantation ne doit rien au hasard : Laval s’attache, depuis la fin des années 1990, à devenir la capitale européenne de la réalité virtuelle. Une ambition qui s’incarne notamment avec le salon Laval Virtual, qui accueille des dizaines d’exposants venus du monde entier, et le Laval Virtual Center, qui sera inauguré en 2017.

Les enjeux de la réalité virtuelle

L’équipe de recherche Présence & Innovation, qui dépend du laboratoire LAMPA, développe des partenariats en mode projet avec le monde industriel, au plus près des besoins des entreprises. L’objectif des travaux est de mettre au point des démarches de conception centrées sur l’expérience utilisateur.

L’institut propose aussi un master recherche orienté sur le management des technologies interactives 3D. Formation unique en France, le master associe la recherche et le terrain, en impliquant les étudiants dans des projets concrets soutenus par les entreprises.

Le mot du directeur

« Il y a dix ans, nous avons fait partie des pionniers de la réalité virtuelle et de la réalité augmentée. Aujourd’hui, ces thèmes intéressent l’ensemble des secteurs d’activité : ils s’intègrent dans les processus de conception, de fabrication et de commercialisation. Les nombreuses applications industrielles en font un axe de recherche et de formation de premier plan. L’institut va être implanté dans le futur Laval Virtual Center, qui vise à regrouper l’ensemble des acteurs de cette filière d’avenir. Nous souhaitons renforcer les synergies au bénéfice du transfert de technologie. Un autre projet concerne le développement de chaires industrielles, dédiées aux procédés innovants de conception. » Jean Quessada.

Formations

​​​​​​​Télécharger le catalogue des formations continues dispensées à l'Institut de Laval et sur le campus Arts et Métiers d'Angers

Partenaires principaux

Spécialités et points forts
La réalité virtuelle
La réalité augmentée
Les objets connectés

Contact et adresse

ARTS ET MÉTIERS INSTITUT DE LAVAL

Laval Virtual Center Rue Marie Curie 53810 changé

Tél. : 33 (0)2 43 65 34 11 

Se rendre à l'institut : plan 

Contacts 

Marie-Pierre Verrier

Dernières actualités du campus

Retrouvez toutes les informations sur la rentrée 2018 pour chaque campus Arts et Métiers par formation.

Actualité, Vie étudiante